top of page

About Us

The Okanagan and Similkameen Invasive Species Society (OASISS) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the prevention, detection, and management of invasive species in the Okanagan-Similkameen. Established in 1996, this group was formally referred to as the South Okanagan-Similkameen Invasive Plant Society. In 2012, Society members opted to change the constitution to encompass invasive species, and subsequently changed the name of the Society.

The role of OASISS is to:

  • Encourage and facilitate agency coordination

  • Prioritize management activities

  • Coordinate/evaluate on-the-ground treatment and to provide public information programs for invasive species management.

Prevention and education are considered priority management activities. 

Our Region

Our Region


Vision Statement

To control, prevent, and minimize the impacts of invasive species on our communities, natural environment and economy.

Goals and Strategies

Raise awareness about invasive species, their impacts and management strategies and inspire action.

Prevent new invasive species from arriving and establish clear protocols for new arrivals.

Facilitate the flow of information and provide a source of expertise on invasive species.

Minimize or reverse the spread of existing invasive species through coordinated, integrated invasive species management efforts.

Improve stakeholder communication, collaboration, coordination, and information sharing.

Build capacity to ensure program sustainability.

Vision Statement
Meet the Team

Meet the Team

Lisa Scott_2017.png

Lisa Scott

Executive Director

Elaine_close up.png

Elaine Desjarlais

Operations Coordinator


Sierra Collins

Program Assistant

Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Anne Skinner

Retired, BC Government

Bridgette At Bobtail Ranch 5.png

Brigitte Daniels

Okanagan-Similkameen Stock Association


Charles Oduro

Ministry of Forests

Ken Sapsford - Head Shot.png
Shelley Fiorito-Projects Coordinator I.png
Tyrion Miskell.png

Ken Sapsford

Ministry of Agriculture and Food

Nick Burdock, Chair

Nature Trust of BC

Shelley Fiorito, Vice-Chair

Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen

Tyrion Miskell

BC Grapegrowers Association

Our Funders

Env Canada.png
Nature Trust.png
BC Gov.png
BC Hydro.png
Eco Can.png
OK Waterwise.png
bottom of page